Ramsey Town Commissioners

Town Hall, Ramsey, Isle of Man, IM8 1RT - Tel: + 44 (0)1624 810100


Shared Housing Waiting List for the North of the Island

Local authorities in the North of the Island are joining forces to provide a shared public sector housing waiting list.

The initiative follows the permanent introduction of a shared list in the Southern region and the continuing pilot project in the East.

This measure will not only further strengthen the working partnership between central and local government and provide public sector housing applicants in the north access to properties in a wider geographical area, but also reflects one of the objectives of the Programme for Government: to support an inclusive and caring Island.

The shared list will include the local authority areas of Ramsey, Ballaugh, Jurby, Bride, Andreas, Lezayre, and Garff authority ward of Maughold, which combined to form the Northern Area Housing Working Group.

Michelle Quayle, lead member for Housing and Property at Ramsey Town Commissioners, said: ‘The northern authorities are pleased to see this initiative come to fruition as it has been proven to deliver many benefits in other areas of the Island. This is about working with the Department of Infrastructure to provide a housing service that better responds to supply and demand, more closely reflects the needs of applicants and ultimately provides tenants with homes in their preferred communities.’

Shared lists provide greater choice, although applicants still have the option to narrow their preferences to specific locations.

The two social housing administrators in the north, Ramsey Town Commissioners and the Department of Infrastructure, will be administering the application and allocation process.

Issued by Ramsey Town Commissioners on behalf of the Northern Working Group.

Other Articles